WIBC
Around Town What's Happening Where To Go Top Acts Movies log into calendar / register
    space


Art Events
 
Sort by: Event Venue Date
    
Art: Museum
200 Years of Indiana Art: A Cultural Legacy
200 Years of Indiana Art: A Cultural Legacy features work by Indiana artists from 1816-2016. The exhibit will include objects from the museum's permanent collection as well as institutions, artists and collectors from across the country. Early works by imp...
Indiana State Museum
Indianapolis, IN

Thu 9/29/16 - Sun 10/2/16 at 10am-5pm
Art: History/Science, Installations, Museum
Indiana in 200 Objects Bicentennial Exhibition
Come see 200 unique, interesting and important objects that shaped Indiana as we celebrate the state's 200th birthday. This is a chance to explore Indiana's past and present, while being inspired to think about its future. From the formation of the landsca...
Indiana State Museum
Indianapolis, IN

Thu 9/29/16 - Sat 10/1/16 at 10am-5pm
Sun 10/2/16 at 11am-5pm
Mon 10/3/16 - Sat 10/8/16 at 10am-5pm
Sun 10/9/16 at 11am-5pm
Mon 10/10/16 - Sat 10/15/16 at 10am-5pm
Art: Art Show, Gallery, Textiles
Weave Wars
This group exhibition features artists exploring new directions and challenging old notions of contemporary fiber art. The opening reception takes place Sept. 23 from 6-9 pm.
Indianapolis Art Center
Indianapolis, IN

Thu 9/29/16 - Fri 9/30/16 at 9am-10pm
Sat 10/1/16 at 10am-6pm
Sun 10/2/16 at 12pm-6pm
Mon 10/3/16 - Fri 10/7/16 at 9am-10pm
Sat 10/8/16 at 10am-6pm
Art: History/Science, Museum, Children
Dinosphere
Dinosphere is one of the largest displays of real juvenile and family dinosaur fossils in the United States. The exhibit also features a Paleo Lab, a hands-on dig simulation, a variety of interactive stations and a fantastic collection of dinosaur art.
Children's Museum of Indianapolis
Indianapolis, IN

Thu 9/29/16 - Sun 10/2/16 at 10am-5pm
Tue 10/4/16 - Sun 10/9/16 at 10am-5pm
Tue 10/11/16 - Sun 10/16/16 at 10am-5pm
Tue 10/18/16 - Sun 10/23/16 at 10am-5pm
Tue 10/25/16 - Sun 10/30/16 at 10am-5pm
Art: Art Talk, History/Science, Museum, Sculpture
Fireworks of Glass
Local engineers will lead activities and demonstrate how engineering has contributed to our health and safety. Attend a presentation by the museum's Extraordinary Scientist-in-Residence, engineer and former astronaut, Dr. David Wolf.
Children's Museum of Indianapolis
Indianapolis, IN

Thu 9/29/16 - Sun 10/2/16 at 10am-5pm
Tue 10/4/16 - Sun 10/9/16 at 10am-5pm
Tue 10/11/16 - Sun 10/16/16 at 10am-5pm
Tue 10/18/16 - Sun 10/23/16 at 10am-5pm
Tue 10/25/16 - Sun 10/30/16 at 10am-5pm
Art: Art Show, Drawings/Works on Paper, Gallery
June First Friday
The human form is one of the most difficult subjects an artist tackles. Sharpen your skills during Neckar and Reynold's Life Drawing Class, a monthly Sunday night figure drawing class that offers adult students the chance to draw or paint an undraped figur...
Nickel Plate Arts
Noblesville, IN

Sun 10/2/16 at 7pm-9pm
Sun 11/6/16 at 7pm-9pm
Sun 12/4/16 at 7pm-9pm
Art: Art Show, Mixed Media, Museum, Sculpture
Unloaded
This is one part of a two-part exhibition split by iMOCA between iMOCA/City Way and the Murphy Art Center. It presents a number of perspectives on the image and impact of guns in contemporary culture, though none endorse them as a means to an end. Works by...
Indianapolis Museum of Contemporary Art
Indianapolis, IN

Fri 10/7/16 - Wed 11/23/16 at 9am-7pm
Fri 11/25/16 - Sat 12/24/16 at 9am-7pm
Mon 12/26/16 - Sat 12/31/16 at 9am-7pm
Art: Art Show, Gallery, Mixed Media
Unloaded
This is one part of a two-part exhibition split by iMOCA between iMOCA/City Way and the Murphy Art Center. It presents a number of perspectives on the image and impact of guns in contemporary culture, though none endorse them as a means to an end. Works by...
Murphy Art Center
Indianapolis, IN

Fri 10/7/16 - Sat 10/8/16 at 12pm-7pm
Tue 10/11/16 - Wed 10/12/16 at 12pm-5pm
Thu 10/13/16 - Sat 10/15/16 at 12pm-7pm
Tue 10/18/16 - Wed 10/19/16 at 12pm-5pm
Thu 10/20/16 - Sat 10/22/16 at 12pm-7pm
Art: Museum, Art Show, Design, Multimedia
Design Zone
What does it take to create a videogame, line up rhythms like the best DJs or design a roller coaster that produces the biggest thrills? Whether it is art, music or engineering, it takes math and science to meet these design challenges. In Design Zone you ...
Indiana State Museum
Indianapolis, IN

Sat 10/22/16 at 10am-5pm
Sun 10/23/16 at 11am-5pm
Mon 10/24/16 - Sat 10/29/16 at 10am-5pm
Sun 10/30/16 at 11am-5pm
Mon 10/31/16 - Sat 11/5/16 at 10am-5pm
Art: Art Show, Folk Art/Crafts, Museum, Community Event, Ethnic, General
Day of the Dead Event
El Dia de los Muertos - The Day of the Dead - is a traditional Mexican holiday with ancient ties to the Aztecs. Its subject matter may be considered morbid by some cultures, but its celebrants approach The Day of the Dead joyfully. It is viewed as a time w...
Indiana State Museum
Indianapolis, IN

Sat 10/29/16 at 11am-4pm
Art: Holiday, Ethnic, Art Show
El Dìa de los Muertos – The Day of the Dead
El Dìa de los Muertos – The Day of the Dead - is a traditional Mexican holiday with ancient ties to the Aztecs. Its subject matter may be considered morbid by some cultures, but its celebrants approach The Day of the Dead joyfully. It is viewed as a time...
Indiana State Museum
Indianapolis, IN

Sat 10/29/16 at 11am-4pm
Art: Art Show, Poetry Reading/Spoken Word, Community Event
The Dog Ate My Homework
Join Spirit & Place and Big Car to test your knowledge with fun homework assignments and games about Indy. Experience the debut of “Dear Indy,” a new piece by spoken word artist and poet Tony Styxx (7:30pm) and view the exhibit Mari by artist Carl Pope.
Tube Factory artspace
Indianapolis, IN

Fri 11/4/16 at 6:30pm-8:30pm
Art: Art Show
Heroes from the Hearland - Veteran Art Making Workshops
Indiana Veterans and their families are invited to participate in art-making workshops with board certified art therapist Kristi Gmutza of Art of the Soul Studio. Enjoy a family-friendly session in the morning where kids are welcome or attend the afternoon...
Indiana State Museum
Indianapolis, IN

Fri 11/11/16 at 12:30pm till 2pm, 2:30pm till 4:30pm
Art: Gallery, Mixed Media
Annual Student Show
This exhibition features over 150 pieces created by youth and adult students.
Indianapolis Art Center
Indianapolis, IN

Fri 12/9/16 at 9am-10pm
Sat 12/10/16 at 9am-6pm
Sun 12/11/16 at 12pm-6pm
Mon 12/12/16 - Fri 12/16/16 at 9am-10pm
Sat 12/17/16 at 9am-6pm
    

Where To Do It!
Filter by City or Town: